Open Mike Eagle - Brick Body Kids Still Daydream

Open Mike Eagle - Brick Body Kids Still Daydream



With the first song of his 2014 masterpiece, Dark Comedy, Open Mike Eagle reintroduced himself by defining his style: "I'm bad at sarcasm so I work in absurdity." On that album, Mike deconstructed our overstimulated and over-surveilled society with ease and caustic wit. But what do you do when the world warps and bends into a shape so absurd that it can no longer be exaggerated? 2017's Brick Body Kids Still Daydream is a searingly political record for systolic political times. It chronicles the life cycle of the Robert Taylor Homes, a housing project on the South side of Chicago that was demolished completely over ten years ago. Families that had lived under the same roof for three generations were forced to scatter, condemned by bureaucrats and faceless cranes and public indifference. Mike Eagle brings the Robert Taylor Homes back to life - literally, with arms and eyes and a head like the dome of a stadium - and fights until the last brick is made to crumble.

Brick Body Kids Still Daydream

A1 Legendary Iron Hood
A2 (How Could Anybody) Feel At Home
A3 Hymnal
Featuring – Sammus
A4 No Selling (Uncle Butch Pretends It Doesn't Hurt)
A5 Happy Wasteland Day
A6 Daydreaming In The Projects
B1 Brick Body Complex
B2 TLDR (Smithing)
B3 Breezeway Ritual
B4 Wedding Ghosts
B5 95 Radios
Featuring – Has-Lo
B6 My Auntie's Building