Dippers - Clastic Rock LP [Goner]

Dippers - Clastic Rock LP [Goner]


What was once THIGH MASTER, now is DIPPERS!
Check out this vid!

Excellent Antipodean oddball rock! Will stick to your brain and your heart!

***** AUSTRALIANS / NEW ZEALANDERS - order this LP only and get $10 shipping! Fulfilled from Melbourne!

Listen to Tightening The Tangles!

Past praise for Dippers:

“Catchy-as-fuck and perfectly unpretentious guitar pop split by venom-spitting gloom…a face slap of scrappy punk revelry.” - Rolling Stone

“Scrappy and busted guitar pop.” - Noisey

“For anyone looking to recapture the lo-fi, high pop IQ glory days of Flying Nun or anyone trying to keep up with the ever-growing wave of great guitar pop bands from Australia. Energetic jangle, joyous clang, and glorious pop.”- All Music


01 S.I.M
02 Tightening the Tangles
03 Comment's Grip
04 Encouragement in Brackets
05 Kitchen Paralysis
06 Staggering the Recipe
07 A Tense Dream (After the Fact)
08 Drop to Inoperant
09 On the Bend
10 Dredging with a Clasp
11 Recurrent Sight
12 Dockside Spectacles
13 Lala Falls (Porto and the Clouds)
14 Takings from the Bar


Whether it was fear of the trademark bogeyman emerging from small-hours infomercial hell or it was just time for a change, but the artist(s) formally known as Thigh Master is now Dippers.

As they put singles and an album or two behind them, most guitar pop groups tend to shed any rough edges, exuberance, energy, propulsion and other associated special elements in the name of "maturity", "increased focus on songwriting" and other concerns that basically translate to a prolonged yawn. Thigh Master was always a strident, more rambunctious proposition, and this is carried over 150% to Dippers.

For the first album under said moniker, (Thigh Master) founder and leader Matthew Ford (Vocals, Guitar, Drums, Bass, Synth, Percussion) is again joined by Innez Tulloch (Vocals, Guitar, Keys, Synth, Bass, Melodica), who is now Ford's principle songwriting partner. Longtime Thigh Master collaborator Dusty Anastassiou (Dag, Permits) provides some guitar action on a handful of tracks. 

Dippers' 2023 full-length, Clastic Rock for Goner Records, doubles down on Ford & crew's supernatural skill at something possessed by only a tiny handful of very special entities that exist under the voluminous banner of indie-jangle/pop: Immediacy. You won't even realize you're listening to indie-jangle/pop (or whatever term one prefers), cuz it takes just a few seconds of the gorgeous down-strummed acousti-riffs tumbling down the stairs across opener "S.I.M." for this thing to own your ass. The album is filled with stop-start dynamics that work to create hooks within hooks (a trick at which this band excels), especially on "Comment's Grip". "Staggering the Recipe" could easily pass the blindfolded taste test as a lost nugget from the great Chris Knox/Tall Dwarfs. Nicole Thibault of Thibault and Minimum Chips brings excellent trombone chops (also a name from the Dippers' Thigh Master pre-history) to "Encouragement in Brackets," "Drop to Inoperant" & "Takings from the Bar" (the latter of which also features Rob Remedios of Chook Race on bass duties), while visual artist Nicky Minus makes an appearance on flute for “Recurrent Sight”.

 Like a lot of your favorite new albums, this one was recorded and conceived of (at least partially so) during the pandemic lockdowns. Though, if you sift through the Thigh Master discography, you might notice that sporadic home recording sessions are not a new concept to the group. The intervals of ragged, jangly guitar riffs interspersed with waves of sonic mischief pulls from the sounds of stylistic historical royalty such as Television Personalities, pre-bizarro Wedding Present and the scrappier of C86/Rough Trade/Postcard Records quantities, classic Flying Nun (namely The Verlaines, The Bats, The Chills, 3Ds, Look Blue Go Purple) and the 80s/90s groundwork laid by fellow Aussies The Go-Betweens, The Moles, The Cannanes, and the early years of Half-A-Cow Records (Smudge, Sneeze, The Plunderers, etc). 

Clastic Rock is out June 23, 2023 on Goner Records.